<< back


  • WOODSIST083 - LP

Night Fiction is Cian Nugent’s third proper album but his first taking on the role of singer-songwriter. Where his previous two (2013’s Born With The Caul and 2011’s Doubles) explore extended guitar-based instrumentals with his band, The Cosmos, here he reigns things in and focuses his songwriting skills. Guitar fans, do not fear—there is still plenty of soloing and fingerpicking here. Comprised of both solo and full-band material, Night Fiction amalgamates everything Nugent has done up to this point and reveals a more broad palate of influences, including The Velvet Underground, Richard Thompson, Television, Neil Young, John Lennon, Fred Neil, etc. Put to tape over a week beginning on Valentine’s Day 2014, Night Fiction was recorded in Bow Lane Studios in Dublin with Daniel Fox (Girl Band) and mixed by Brendan Jenkinson. The album’s seven songs include solo ventures as well as full-band recordings featuring David Lacey on drums, Conor Lumsden on bass, Brendan Jenkinson on organ and piano and Ailbhe Nic Oireachtaigh on viola. The vibe here is familiar yet refreshing and a logical progression for Nugent. “I’ve always been impressed and inspired by Cian’s guitar playing; now on this album he brings his voice and stories to only expand that brilliance.” —Steve Gunn **featured on the upcoming UNCUT CD covermount (Feb16 issue)


1. Lost Your Way
2. First Run
3. Shadows
4. Lucy
5. Things Don?t Change That Fast
6. Nightlife
7. Year of the Snake


Audio & Video

follow forte

Search for track, artist or label


  • +44 1600 891589
  • info@fortedistribution.co.uk