<< back


  • ITR192 - LP
  • ITR192CD - CD

Males is the sixth full-length release from Seattle, Washington's The Intelligence. This time, main-brain Lars Finberg ditched his usual method of recording all the instruments himself and had his current touring band play on it-Susannah Welbourne, Beren Ekine Huett (Eat Skull) and Chris Woodhouse (Mayyors, FM Knives, Karate Party), who also served as the record's producer. Hopefully this will still be the current line up by the time you read this. The results are as powerful as a punch in the face by Mike Tyson but with the velvet touch of a dandy fop. Marrying buzzsaw punk, DIY post-punk, ramshackle garage (as in played by The Fall-not the Chesterfield Kings), and pop hooks aplenty, Males is The Intelligence's finest statement to date. Current line-up features members of Eat Skull, Mayyors, FM Knives, Karate Party. Major tours of the US and Europe in the works. No returns on vinyl.


1. Bong Life
2. Tuned to Puke
3. Sailor Itch
4. The Universe
5. Like Like Like Like Like Like Like
6. Estate Sales
7. Mom or a Parking Lot
8. White Corvette
9. The Beetles
10. Chateau Bandit
11. Males


?[The Intelligence casts] a pronounced British Invasion
pop influence in warped, peak-level lo-fi sonics, emphasizing
a connection between post-punk and psychedelia that
stretches from Clinic and Guided by Voices through the deconstructionist
pop of Swell Maps and Wire and back to the
whimsical wordsmithery of Syd Barrett and Skip Spence.?

Audio & Video

follow forte

Search for track, artist or label


  • +44 1600 891589
  • info@fortedistribution.co.uk