<< back


  • ITR238 - LP
  • ITR238CD - CD

In The Red is proud to announce the release of The Oblivians? first studio full-length album from since 1997?s ...Play Nine Songs with Mr. Quintron. Desperation picks up right where the band left off, delivering fourteen scorching tracks of soulful punk-garage-blues trash rock informed in equal parts by ?50s rock ?n? roll, ?60s garage rock, Memphis soul, Delta blues and Killed By Death-style punk. There?s even a Cajun Zydeco cover here! As Greg Oblivian puts it, ?Between our last record as a band in ?97 and now, a lot of water has passed below that bridge. We three went our own ways after that and pursued our own musical goals. Personally, I often missed the dynamic that Jack and Eric offered to my songwriting. Almost as much as I missed being given carte blanche to add a thing or two to theirs. I?ve played with lots of great musicians in the interim but needless to say, it?s a hard itch to scratch. The dynamic between us was a singular thing. So, over the years as we would occasionally reunite for a festival or special occasion, the idea began to grow in the back of my mind?the idea of making a new record. I mean, if you?re going to keep playing as a band eventually you?ll want new songs to play. Because as much as we enjoyed playing together the thing I missed the most was creating together. So that?s what we did.?


1. I?ll Be Gone
2. Loving Cup
3. Em
4. Woke Up in a Police Car
5. Call the Police
6. Pinball King
7. Run for Cover
8. Come a Little Closer
9. Little War Child
10. Fire Detector
11. Oblivion
12. Back Street Hangout
13. Desperation
14. Mama Guitar


*****5 Star Review The Guardian

Audio & Video

follow forte

Search for track, artist or label


  • +44 1600 891589
  • info@fortedistribution.co.uk